BOOK REVIEW: Rainbow Rowell – Carry On

 

Harry Potter with a twist. Romantic and lovable.

Title: Carry On
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publisher: Macmillan
Publish Date: Oct 6, 2015

Goodreads: 4.2/5
Barnes and Noble: 4.6/5

SYNOPSIS:

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here – it’s their last year at Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On is a love letter to love stories and the power of words – to every ‘chosen one’ who ever had more on their mind than saving the world…

 

REVIEW:

Characters:

Well, what can I say. It’s a Rainbow Rowell book. She never fails to create interesting characters.

Simon Snow is “The Chosen One” in this story and Baz is his archenemy. Despite being strong male leads, you get to see a good balance of the characters with their own faults that made them so realistic.

I love Baz most of all. His bitterness with the world was totally relate-able. His admitted craziness made him even more adorable.

“For a moment — not even a moment, a split second — I imagine him saying, ‘The truth is, I’m desperately attracted to you.’ And then I imagine myself spitting in his face. and then I imagine licking it off his cheek and kissing him. (Because I’m disturbed. Ask Anyone.)”

 

Style and Pacing:

It’s a Rainbow Rowell book. Duh. The first thirds of the book is always flat.

There was an absence of Baz in the first chapters which really made me put down the book and took me some time to get back to reading it again. But after I got to the part where Baz returns to school, I got all giddy and excited to see where it would all go. AND IT WAS WORTH IT!

The agony of flipping through the boring first pages, I forgot all about it. Once Simon and Baz started talking, fighting and threatening each other, sparks just flew all around the place and I couldn’t help laughing to myself when I read this.

Things got so meaty when we get Baz’s POV and it is revealed that he has had a crush with Simon since their first year in school. Him trying to kill Simon was just him trying to get past his gayness which he could not accept back then.

To be honest though, I found the whole confession part a bit off and too dramatic.

*spoiler!*

Wtf was that?! Nobody just kisses anyone out of the blue. That doesn’t happen IRL! But heck, that was one hot scene (if you know what I mean) haha!

*end spoiler*

I loved how the book did not really talk in depth about sexuality. Even when Simon was asked if he was gay, he did not really identify himself as one as long as he loved Baz. (WHICH IS WHAT LOVE ACTUALLY IS!)

 

Originality:

This book has been hit for being a complete parody of Harry Potter. And it is. And that’s not an issue with me. Every character did resemble someone in the HP series.

The magical system also was weird for me. At first I did not really get it. Most spells didn’t even make sense for me and held no poetry unlike when you say, “Winguardiam Leviosa.”

 

OVERALL: 5/5

Stars 5.0

Despite a slow start and an unrealistic magical system, I LOVED IT. I read this for the romance and I got it! It’s so rare to find a gay young adult book that had such levity on the topic of sexuality. Being gay is just being gay. No spectrum, no rainbow colored sexuality. Just a human, loving another human (or vampire in this case).

Must read. 🙂

 

BONUS QUOTES:

“You have to pretend you get an endgame. You have to carry on like you will; otherwise, you can’t carry on at all.”

“Just when you think you’re having a scene without Simon, he drops in to remind you that everyone else is a supporting character in his catastrophe.”

“Safety, stability–it’s an illusion. It’s a false god, Simon. It’s like clinging to a sinking raft instead of learning to swim.”

“And sometimes holes want to get bigger, but Baz was wrong—sometimes they just want to be filled.”

“I just wanted to tell you that i’m going to carry on. As i am.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you guys found my review entertaining and informative.

If you have any books or movies you’d like me to review, or any topic suggestions, let me know through HERE.

You may also give me a shoutout via Twitter and Instagram.

Leave a Reply

