BOOK REVIEW: Sarah J. Mass – Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)

The story gets more exciting the more you read. Fantasy with Romance? Sign me up!

Title: Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass #1)
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Publish Date: August 2, 2016

Goodreads: 4.2/5
Barnes and Noble: 4.6/5

SYNOPSIS:

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

 

REVIEW

WHAT I LIKED:

I’m a sucker for strong female protagonists and Celaena Sardothein certainly does not disappoint. She’s as hardcore as an assassin can get and not afraid to get her hands dirty. Despite killing as a profession, she still has good morals and did not kill unless necessary. Her smart mouth entertains not only the Prince but also the Princess from another land.

Chaol is also great! There was so much tension between him and Celaena but he insists on hiding his feelings as he saw that the Prince already has feelings for her. For me, they had better chemistry than the Prince. But that is probably because Chaol and Celaena are both warriors and Prince Dorian has not shown any skills in battling yet.

That twist though. I did not see that coming.

From the start I knew Nehemia had a big role in the plot but I did not expect her to be practicing Wyrd Magic. Not to mention that she had secretly saved Celaena’s life countless times, afraid to let her know of the ramblings behind stone walls.

I love how this book is written. The romantic scenes and the fights equally possess great emotions. However, there are some points that got a bit corny especially when Celaena and Prince Dorian are together. Celaena turns into a brat, full of sarcasm and wit, whenever in the Prince’s presence.

 

WHAT I DID NOT LIKE:

Prince Dorian is just weak AF. He is just a face for the throne. But this is just the first book so I still have hope that he becomes useful in the next ones.

At some points, Celaena seems annoying. The greatest assassin in the world is pretty, reads books and eats a lot. Can she get any more perfect? By the way that she ate a lot, it seemed that it was the author rambling how she didn’t care about her figure. And that’s fine. However, it did not seem logical as she was preparing for the tournament and needed to get a steady diet to get fit. But no, Celaena is perfect.

She is left with a basket of chocolates and guess what? She ate them right away. In the middle of all the ritual murders of the champions, she did not even hesitate. She did not even notice any one come in her room.  So much for the “greatest assassin in the world.”

 

OVERALL: 5 STARS

Stars 5.0

I really liked the book and I’m excited to read the next one in the series. Fans of Shadow and Bone will definitely like this one. Fans of Game of Thrones may or may not like it. This is like the YA version of George Martin’s work.

The hype does not disappoint. I swear.

 

BONUS QUOTES:

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

“We all bear scars,… Mine just happen to be more visible than most.”

“Names are not important. It’s what lies inside of you that matters.”

“Sometimes, the wicked will tell us things just to confuse us–to haunt our thoughts long after we’ve faced them.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hope you guys found my review entertaining and informative.

If you have any books or movies you’d like me to review, or any topic suggestions, let me know through HERE.

You may also give me a shoutout via Twitter and Instagram.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s